Historic Preservation Commission


  • 2nd Wednesday of each month
  • 4 p.m.
  • City Hall
    Council Chambers
    57 N Liberty Street
    Cumberland, MD 21502

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.  Use the link to the left to view agendas or minutes.


Seat 1:  Larry Jackson - Term expires: December 31, 2025

Seat 2: Justin T. Paulman - Term expires: December 31, 2025
 Seat 3: Nathan C. Williams - Term expires: December 31, 2025
 Seat 4: Lynda Lambert - Term expires February 21, 2026
 Seat 5: Tim Hoffman - Secretary - 
Term expires: December 31, 2023
 Seat 6: Brian Plitnik - Term expires: December 31, 2026
 Seat 7: Dr. Lincoln Wilkins, Jr. - Term expires:  October 6, 2023
Councilwoman Laurie Marchini - M&CC ex officio - Voting member


Historic Preservation Commission is an eight-member Commission, including one City Council member. A majority of the members shall be residents of the City of Cumberland. Nonresident appointees must possess professional or academic qualifications. Each member shall possess a demonstrated special interest, specific knowledge, or professional or academic training in related fields including but not limited to:

  • Anthropology
  • Archaeology
  • Architectural history
  • Architecture
  • Conservation
  • Curation
  • Historic preservation
  • History
  • Landscape architecture
  • Planning
  • Urban design
At least 2 members shall possess professional or academic training in 1 or more of the above listed fields. The commission oversees the monitoring and development of Cumberland's locally zoned historic district, the Canal Place Preservation District and other duties as defined in Ordinance 3208.